Enter Here for Your Chance to Win a Digital Review Copy of The Second Chance of Benjamin Waterfalls!

From James Bird, author of The Brave, comes a new middle grade novel The Second Chance of Benjamin Waterfalls!

The Second Chance of Benjamin Waterfalls
Feiwel & Friends
ISBN: 9781250811561
On Sale April 19, 2022
Ages 10-14


A middle-grade novel by James Bird about a boy sent to his Ojibwe family to straighten out his life.

Benjamin Waterfalls comes from a broken home, and the quickest fix he’s found for his life is to fill that emptiness with stuff he steals and then sells. But he’s been caught one too many times, and when he appears before a tough judge, his mother proposes sending him to “boot camp” at the Objibwe reservation where they used to live.

Soon he is on his way to Grand Portage, Minnesota, to live with his father – the man Benny hasn’t seen in years. Not only is “boot camp” not what he expects, but his rehabilitation seems to be in the hands of the tribal leader’s daughter, who wears a mask. Why? Finding the answer to this and so many other questions prove tougher than any military-style boot camp. Will answers be enough for Benny to turn his life around and embrace his second chance?


The Brave
Feiwel & Friends
ISBN: 9781250247759
On Sale Now!
Ages 9-12


Perfect for fans of Rain Reign, this middle-grade novel The Brave is about a boy with an OCD issue and his move to a reservation to live with his biological mother.

Collin can’t help himself—he has a unique condition that finds him counting every letter spoken to him. It’s a quirk that makes him a prime target for bullies, and a continual frustration to the adults around him, including his father.

When Collin asked to leave yet another school, his dad decides to send him to live in Minnesota with the mother he’s never met. She is Ojibwe, and lives on a reservation. Collin arrives in Duluth with his loyal dog, Seven, and quickly finds his mom and his new home to be warm, welcoming, and accepting of his condition.

Celebrate Everyday Heroes with Amos McGee!

Thank your everyday hero
for all the ways they make a difference!

To celebrate the release of the new picture book Amos McGee Misses the Bus (on sale November 23, 2021), let’s thank everyday heroes for their kindness and generosity! Nominate someone who has made a difference in your life or your community for their chance to win a grand prize including a $500 gift card and a set of books including Amos McGee Misses the Bus and Caldecott Medal winner A Sick Day for Amos McGee. Two first prize winners will also be selected to win a set of books! Only everyday hero nominees are eligible to win prizes. Sweepstakes ends 10/22!

Learn more about these books here →

Enter for your chance to win the Friends Forever: Best School Year Ever sweepstakes!

Back-to-school season is just around the corner! Get ready to kick off your Best School Year Ever! Enter the Friends Forever Sweepstakes for your chance to win a virtual classroom or library visit from Shannon Hale and LeUyen Pham, creators of the bestselling Friends middle grade graphic novel series. The winner will receive a virtual classroom visit, plus a classroom set of Real Friends, Best Friends, and Friends Forever. Everyone who enters will also receive a video from Shannon Hale delivering her “Best School Year Ever” kick-off speech, where she’ll share a special back-to-school message for students everywhere.

Learn more about this series here →

Author Lydia M. Sigwarth shares the true story behind Dear Librarian + check out our Librarian Hall of Fame!

Dear Librarian Hall of Fame ★

Librarians provide so many vital services to their community and truly make a difference in the lives of their patrons, just like Lydia Sigwarth’s librarian Deb Stephenson. To celebrate the release of Dear Librarian, we asked readers to nominate a librarian who made a difference in their lives for their chance to win a grand prize! We received over 1,900 entries to our Dear Librarian sweepstakes, filled with stories of librarians going above and beyond for their patrons. We’re excited to share some of our favorite entries below! Thank you to these life-changing librarians for all that you do for your community!

Betsy Bird interviewed Lydia Sigwarth about the book, and how she and Deb Stephenson felt when they read these nominations: Lydia said, “We especially loved stories that reflected our own – kids whose lives had been changed by a special librarian in their life. It was also so inspiring to see all the amazing things librarians are doing all over the country. From rural communities to NYC to Alaska, librarians were making a difference in their communities and it was so, so hard to pick favorites when they all obviously deserved to be celebrated.”
Read the full interview on the Fuse 8 blog!

Learn more about Dear Librarian by Lydia M. Sigwarth, illustrated by Romina Galotta!

Praise for Dear Librarian:

“A gentle ode to the effect one person can have on another, and what a library can offer a community.” —Publishers Weekly

“A cogent, warming reminder that public libraries have always been more than just repositories for books.” —Kirkus Reviews

A heartfelt tribute to the power of libraries, and the power of kindness.” —Mara Wilson, actress and author