Kids 8-12: Enter the STINETINGLERS Scary Story Writing Contest!

R. L. Stine ushers us into spooky season with Stinetinglers, his gruesome new middle-grade novel that is full of scary stories sure to make your head spin. This Halloween season, parents and guardians of budding horror enthusiasts ages 8-12 are invited to enter the Stinetinglers Scary Story Writing Contest. Entries are open to all who dare from October 1 – 31, 2022.

Can you scare R. L. Stine, the master of scary tales?

The contest will be judged by the Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group Stinetinglers team, including Stine’s editor, Kat Brzozowski (Senior Editor, Feiwel & Friends), Brittany Groves (Assistant Editor, Feiwel & Friends), Sage Kiernan-Sherrow (Editorial Intern, Feiwel & Friends), Elysse Villalobos (Marketing Coordinator, MacKids School & Library), Kristen Luby (Senior Marketing Manager, MacKids School & Library), Mary Van Akin (Director, MacKids School & Library Marketing), and R. L. Stine himself. We’re on the lookout for a story so bone-chilling that it’ll make us witch it was Halloween all year long.

Rules and Requirements: bit.ly/StinetinglersRules
Privacy Notice: https://us.macmillan.com/privacy-notice

The grand prize winner will get to meet R.L. Stine in a virtual classroom visit and will receive a $500 Amex gift card, a signed copy of Stinetinglers, a class set of Stinetinglers for their school, and a Stinetinglers sticker, plus their short story will be published online or in print.

The runner-up will receive a signed copy of Stinetinglers, a classroom set of Stinetinglers for their school, and a Stinetinglers sticker.

Writing Prompt: R. L. Stine’s writes tales that terrify, and now we want to hear yours! Write a scary short story between 1,000 and 1,500 words. It must have a catchy title, a protagonist, a creepy setting, and a moment of suspense.


About the Book

Stinetinglers by R. L. Stine
On Sale Now!
Ages 10-14

From New York Times bestselling author R.L. Stine, the master of horror for young readers, comes ten new stories that are sure to leave you shivering.

A boy who hates bugs starts to see them everywhere. A basketball player’s skin starts to almost drip off his hands—but no one else can see it. Three friends find a hole in the ground that just gets bigger, and bigger, and bigger… And each story is introduced by Stine himself, providing a personal touch sure to delight fans.

Laced with Stine’s signature humor and a hefty dose of nightmarish fun, Stinetinglers is perfect for fans of Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark and Stine’s own Goosebumps books. These chilling tales prove that Stine’s epic legacy in the horror genre is justly earned. Dive in, and beware: you might be sleeping with the lights on tonight!

Praise for Stinetinglers:

Reviews“This collection of 10 scary short stories from the bestselling Goosebumps author promises—and delivers—chills, twists, and surprises… Each story ends with a classic Stine twist and campy humor. This combination is sure to appeal to returning fans and surprise those new to his writing…Quick doses of horror that send a tingle up your spine.”
Kirkus

“Stine’s collection, full of disaffected or downright miserable narrators, and bullies who take the form of friends, parents, and siblings, is a harrowing look at myriad current real-life horrors plaguing tweens, and foregrounds the idea that, more often than not, one must be brave enough to save oneself.”
Publishers Weekly

“Another collection of tales from the most trusted name in kids’ horror…A must-have volume wherever Stine’s other work has a following.”
School Library Journal

“Stine takes the normal anxieties of childhood—in this case, the first day at a new school—and blends exaggerated humor with a few equally exaggerated moments of horror in a fast and goofy romp. Lots of fun for Stine fans.” —Booklist

“As usual, Stine delivers the hilarity and horror that readers love, and his mastery of sustaining mood will not disappoint . . . Kids will love the twist at the end.” —School Library Journalstarred review

“Stine’s signature blend of horror and humor, combined with an unexpected ending, offers a fresh view on a familiar idea.” —ABC New York