2022 MacKids School & Library Virtual Events

Join us and our authors at these upcoming virtual events, including book buzzes, webinars, conferences, and more! Check back for updates, as more upcoming events will be added soon. Plus, ICYMI: watch archived videos from our previous 2022 events below! Check out an archive of our 2021 events here.

Upcoming Events

RSVP for our Fall 2022 Preview!

Want to learn even more about our new Fall 2022 books?
RSVP for our Fall 2022 Preview
, featuring special guests Carole Boston Weatherford and Rob Sanders (A Song for the Unsung: Bayard Rustin, the Man Behind the 1963 March on Washington), Dan Gemeinhart (The Midnight Children), Jas Hammonds (We Deserve Monuments), Tae Keller (Mihi Ever After), and Aiden Thomas (The Sunbearer Trials)

Wednesday, July 13th
2pm ET / 11am PT

Archived Events

Freedom to Read Roundtable
Thursday, February 24th at 5:00pm ET / 2:00pm PT

Voices from every aspect of this ongoing and constantly evolving issue will weigh in, including a teacher, librarian, parent, legislator, author, and student, using the recent book bannings in Texas and the response from teachers, librarians, and the community at large as an example of a way forward in protecting the first amendment nationwide. The ALA Office of Intellectual Freedom will close out the program and all attendees will receive resources following the event. This event is sponsored by Booklist and Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group and is free to attend and open to all.


MacKids School & Library Spring 2022 Preview, hosted by Booklist!
Monday, February 14, 2022 at 2:00pm ET / 1:00pm CT / 11:00am PT

Join Booklist and the Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group School and Library team on Monday, February 14 at 2:00 p.m. ET / 11 a.m. PT for a free, one-hour webinar previewing upcoming picture books, middle grade, and young adult titles. Also, hear from special guests Jeannette Arroyo and Ren Graham, creators of BLACKWATER, in conversation about the inspiration behind their young adult graphic novel. Plus, don’t miss an exclusive first look at THE MARVELLERS, a magical middle-grade debut from bestselling author and former school librarian Dhonielle Clayton.


ALA LibLearnX Virtual Conference
January 21-24, 2022

Registered ALA attendees can tune in to hear from our featured author speakers Angeline Boulley (Firekeeper’s Daughter), Mariko Tamaki (Cold), and Charly Palmer (The Legend of Gravity) and more!


Booklist Authors & ARCs Webinar Part II
Thursday, January 20, 2022 at 1pm CT / 2pm ET

Inspiring authors, free e-ARCs, a riveting panel—it’s a conference without the crowds! Join Booklist on Thursday, January 20 for our second Authors & ARCs program of 2022! In part two of our webinar series, we’re focusing on youth authors whose books have the power to inspire all readers! You’ll hear from Jas Hammonds, author of the debut YA novel We Deserve Monuments; Julie C. Dao, author of the new middle grade fantasy adventure Team Chu and the Battle of Blackwood Arena; and more! Register now for this free, 75-minute webinar moderated by Booklist’s Books for Youth associate editor Ronny Khuri.


Using Comics in the Classroom Case Study: The Olympians
January 19, 2022 at 3pm CT / 4pm ET

On January 19, 2022 join Mackin for a special event with bestselling, award-winning Olympians creator George O’Connor, First Second Creative Director Mark Siegel, and Tuan Nguyen discussing the value of using graphic novels in libraries and classrooms. Using The Olympians series as a case study, the panelists will discuss how graphic novels can supplement curriculums. Greek Mythology has never been so action-packed and entertaining! Moderated by Mackin Educational Sales Consultant Tuan Nguyen.