Discussion Guide: Three Summers by Amra Sabic-El-Rayess with Laura L. Sullivan

Three Summers

Three Summers
By Amra Sabic-El-Rayess with Laura L. Sullivan
Ages 8-12
On Sale April 9, 2024!

An epic middle-grade memoir about sisterhood and coming-of-age in the three years leading up to the Bosnian Genocide.

Three Summers is the story of five young cousins who grow closer than sisters as ethnic tensions escalate over three summers in 1980s Bosnia. They navigate the joys and pitfalls of adolescence on their family’s little island in the middle of the Una River. When finally confronted with the harsh truths of the adult world around them, their bond gives them the resilience to discover and hold fast to their true selves.

Written with incredible warmth and tenderness, Amra Sabic-El-Rayess takes readers on a journey that will break their hearts and put them back together again.

DOWNLOAD the THree summers DISCUSSION GUIDE HERE→

Discussion Guide: The Girl Who Sang by Estelle Nadel with Bethany Strout; illustrated by Sammy Savos

the-girl-who-sang

The Girl Who Sang
By Estelle Nadel with Bethany Strout; illustrated by Sammy Savos
Ages 10-14
On Sale Now!

A heartrending graphic memoir about a young Jewish girl’s fight for survival in Nazi occupied Poland, The Girl Who Sang illustrates the power of a brother’s love, the kindness of strangers, and finding hope when facing the unimaginable.

Born to a Jewish family in a small Polish village, Estelle Nadel—then known as Enia Feld—was just seven years old when the Nazis invaded Poland in 1939. Once a vibrant child with a song for every occasion, Estelle would eventually lose her voice as, over the next five years, she would survive the deaths of their mother, father, their eldest brother and sister, and countless others.

A child at the mercy of her neighbors during a terrifying time in history, The Girl Who Sang is an enthralling first-hand account of Estelle’s fight for survival during World War II. She would weather loss, betrayal, near-execution, and spend two years away from the warmth of the sun—all before the age of eleven. And once the war was over, Estelle would walk barefoot across European borders and find remnants of home in an Austrian displaced persons camp before finally crossing the Atlantic to arrive in New York City—a young woman carrying the unseen scars of war.

Beautifully rendered in bright hues with expressive, emotional characters, debut illustrator Sammy Savos masterfully brings Estelle story of survival during the Holocaust to a whole new generation of readers. The Girl Who Sang is perfect for fans of March, Maus, and Anne Frank’s Diary.

DOWNLOAD THE GIRL WHO SANG DISCUSSION GUIDE HERE→

The Girl Who Sang and more books for International Holocaust Remembrance Day

holocaust-remembrance-day

Books for International Holocaust Remembrance Day

International Holocaust Remembrance Day is observed on January 27th—the anniversary of the liberation of Auschwitz-Birkenau—to commemorate the six million Jewish victims of the Holocaust, the millions of other victims of Nazi persecution, and the heroism of survivors and rescuers. Here is a collection of books you can share with young readers for International Holocaust Remembrance Day:

Discover more books for international Holocaust Remembrance Day here →

Educator’s Guide: Choosing Brave by Angela Joy; illustrated by Janelle Washington

Educator’s Guide: Choosing Brave by Angela Joy; illustrated by Janelle Washington

choosing-brave

Choosing Brave
By Angela Joy; illustrated by Janelle Washington
Ages 8-12
On Sale Now!

A Caldecott-honor winning picture book biography of the mother of Emmett Till, and how she channeled grief over her son’s death into a call to action for the civil rights movement.

Mamie Till-Mobley is the mother of Emmett Till, the 14-year-old boy who was brutally murdered while visiting the South in 1955. His death became a rallying point for the civil rights movement, but few know that it was his mother who was the catalyst for bringing his name to the forefront of history.

In Choosing Brave, Angela Joy and Janelle Washington offer a testament to the power of love, the bond of motherhood, and one woman’s unwavering advocacy for justice. It is a poised, moving work about a woman who refocused her unimaginable grief into action for the greater good. Mamie fearlessly refused to allow America to turn away from what happened to her only child. She turned pain into change that ensured her son’s life mattered.

Timely, powerful, and beautifully told, this thorough and moving story has been masterfully crafted to be both comprehensive and suitable for younger readers.

DOWNLOAD THE Choosing BRave EDUCATORS GUIDE HERE →