MacKids Spotlight: Daniel Kraus

Meet the author of the middle grade series The Teddies Saga, Daniel Kraus! Daniel shares more about his inspiration for this series, his most memorable teachers and librarians, his favorite childhood books, and more in this Q&A!

Book 2 of the Teddies Saga, They Stole Our Hearts is now available! Plus Book 1, They Thew Us Away, is now available in paperback! Five teddy bears set out on an epic journey to figure out why they were left behind—and maybe learn the meaning of life, too—in this action-packed middle grade trilogy from New York Times-bestselling author Daniel Kraus. Perfect for Five Nights at Freddy’s fans!

Read a Q&A with Daniel here →

MacKids Spotlight: Lizz Huerta

Lizz Huerta is the debut author of The Lost Dreamer. A stunning YA fantasy inspired by ancient Mesoamerica, this gripping debut introduces us to a lineage of seers defiantly resisting the shifting patriarchal state that would see them destroyed—perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi and Sabaa Tahir.

Lizz shares more about her inspiration for the story and her advice for young writers here! Plus, request a digital review copy of The Lost Dreamer on NetGalley!

Read our Q&A with Lizz Huerta here →

MacKids Spotlight: Julian Randall

Julian Randall is the debut author of the blockbuster middle grade fantasy, Pilar Ramirez and the Escape from Zafa. The Land of Stories meets Dominican myths and legends in a new duology for fans of Tristan Strong and The Storm Runner.

Julian shares more about his inspiration for the story and his advice for young writers here! Plus, request a digital review copy of Pilar Ramirez and the Escape from Zafa on NetGalley!

Read our Q&A with Julian Randall here →

MacKids Spotlight: Jennifer Mathieu

Jennifer Mathieu is the author of DevotedAfterwardThe Liars of Mariposa Island, and The Truth About Alice, which won the Teen Choice Debut Author Award. Her 2017 novel, Moxie, was developed into a film by Amy Poehler for Netflix. Jennifer teaches high school English in Texas, where she lives in the Houston area with her husband and son.

Jennifer shares more about her inspiration for the story and her advice for young writers here!

Read our Q&A with Jennifer Mathieu here →

MacKids Spotlight: John Patrick Green

Meet the creator of the graphic novel series InvestiGators, John Patrick Green! This laugh-out-loud sleuth series introduces two gumshoe gators Mango and Brash, the super spy duo who crack cases and catch criminals in the jaws of justice! John shares more about his inspiration for this series, his most memorable teachers and librarians, his favorite childhood books, and more here.

Read a Q&A with John Patrick Green here →

MacKids Spotlight: Amber McBride

This month, we’re interviewing Amber McBride, author of debut novel-in-verse Me (Moth)! The novel is about a teen girl who is grieving the deaths of her family and a teen boy who crosses her path. The book publishes this August and has just earned its first star from Booklist, who described the story as being “hauntingly romantic.”

Amber shares more about her inspiration for the story and what she hopes young readers will learn here.

Read a Q&A with Amber here →

MacKids Spotlight: Christian McKay Heidicker

This month, we’re interviewing Christian McKay Heidicker, author of 2020 Newbery Honor book Scary Stories for Young Foxes! This fall, the series continues with Scary Stories for Young Foxes: The City. This next installment chronicles the adventures of three fox kits desperate to survive the terrors of a frightening new world.

Christian shares more about his inspiration for the story and what he hopes young readers will learn here.

Read a Q&A with Christian here →