MacKids Spotlight: Jas Hammonds

Jas Hammond’s stunning YA debut We Deserve Monuments is a swoon-worthy romance and a slow-burn mystery set in a smalltown full of secrets. This layered and powerful coming-of-age story is a love letter to queer Black teenagers. It celebrates the beauty of community and friendship, while also exploring generational trauma and how racial violence can ripple down through history.

Read on to learn more about Jas’s inspiration for their must-read debut + request a digital review copy of We Deserve Monuments on NetGalley!

Read our Q&A with Jas Hammonds here →

MacKids Spotlight: Dhonielle Clayton

Bestselling author, former teacher and librarian, COO of We Need Diverse Books, and owner of CAKE literary Dhonielle Clayton makes her magical middle grade debut in The Marvellers! This fantasy adventure set in a global magic school in the sky completely redefines the genre — the Arcanum Institute is like no magic school you’ve ever visited before! This is an inclusive, global celebration of the unique magic that lives within each us. ✨

#1 New York Times bestselling–author Rick Riordan says, “The Marvellers deserves the highest compliment I can give a book: I want to live in this world. You can stop looking at admissions brochures for all those other schools of magic. The Arcanum Training Institute for Marvelous and Uncanny Endeavors is definitely where you want to apply.”

Dhonielle shares more about her inspiration for the story and the enchanting world of The Marvellers here! Plus, request a digital review copy of The Marvellers on NetGalley!

Read our Q&A with Dhonielle Clayton here →

MacKids Spotlight: Daniel Kraus

Meet the author of the middle grade series The Teddies Saga, Daniel Kraus! Daniel shares more about his inspiration for this series, his most memorable teachers and librarians, his favorite childhood books, and more in this Q&A!

Book 2 of the Teddies Saga, They Stole Our Hearts is now available! Plus Book 1, They Thew Us Away, is now available in paperback! Five teddy bears set out on an epic journey to figure out why they were left behind—and maybe learn the meaning of life, too—in this action-packed middle grade trilogy from New York Times-bestselling author Daniel Kraus. Perfect for Five Nights at Freddy’s fans!

Read a Q&A with Daniel here →