Celebrating Indigenous Voices for National Native American Heritage Month

Celebrate National Native American Heritage Month in your school or library! Keep reading to find more book recommendations, watch a presentation by Firekeeper’s Daughter author Angeline Boulley, download the We Are Water Protectors activity kit, and watch a read-aloud of Fry Bread by author Kevin Noble Maillard!

Watch author Angeline Boulley discuss her inspiration, storytelling, and research process for her bestselling debut novel Firekeeper’s Daughter. Plus, educator Kit Robinson shares how teachers can use Firekeeper’s Daughter in the classroom.

Find Ojibwe language translations, correct spellings, and audio pronunciations for Firekeeper’s Daughter in this Anishinaabemowin resource center, created by Margaret Noodin, a professor at UW-Milwaukee.

Find more books for National Native American Heritage Month here →

Celebrate 10 Years of the Grishaverse with Leigh Bardugo!

Join us on Tuesday, October 4th at 1pm ET/ 10am PT
to celebrate 10 Years of the Grishaverse!


A decade after the publication of Shadow and Bone, #1 New York Times bestselling author Leigh Bardugo and educator Rose Brock will explore the creation of her wildly popular and immersive fantasy world, the Grishaverse, which now spans 10 books and a Netflix original series, Shadow and Bone. Plus, Leigh will talk with illustrator Dani Pendergast about the next chapter: Demon in the Wood, a new graphic novel about the origins of the Darkling, on sale September 27th.

Please invite your classrooms to join us for this event! 
Students will have the chance to flex their knowledge of the Grishaverse in a trivia game and submit questions for Leigh to answer live during the event.

Have you pre-ordered Demon in the Wood yet? You could score an exclusive pre-order gift! Keep reading to learn more.

Pre-order DEMON IN THE WOOD →

Teacher’s Guide: The Midnight Children by Dan Gemeinhart

The Midnight Children by Dan Gemeinhart
Ages 8-12
On Sale Now!

#1 New York Times Bestseller!

From Dan Gemeinhart, the acclaimed author of The Remarkable Journey of Coyote Sunrise, comes an extraordinary story about a family of runaways who take up residence in a small town, and the outcast boy who finds his voice and his peopleperfect for fans of Katherine Applegate and Kate DiCamillo.

In the dead of night, a truck arrives in Slaughterville, a small town curiously named after its windowless slaughterhouse. Seven mysterious kids with suitcases step out of the vehicle and into an abandoned home on a dead-end street, looking over their shoulders to make sure they aren’t noticed.

But Ravani Foster covertly witnesses their arrival from his bedroom window. Timid and lonely, Ravani is eager to learn everything he can about his new neighbors: What secrets are they hiding? And most mysterious of all…where are the adults?

Yet amid this shadowy group of children, Ravani finds an unexpected friend in the warm and gutsy Virginia. But with this friendship comes secrets revealed—and danger. When Ravani learns of a threat to his new friends, he must fight to keep them safe, or lose the only person who has ever understood him.

Full of wonder, friendship, and mystery, The Midnight Children explores the meaning of “home,” what makes a family, and what it takes to find the courage to believe in yourself.

“This might be the best #middlegradenovel of 2022,” says @colby.sharp!

Find out more about THE MIDNIGHT CHILDREN here →

Read and Share Banned Books

Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group stands against censorship, and in support of the librarians and teachers who are doing their part to share a love of reading with their students. We believe that all readers deserve access to an inclusive selection of titles and we are committed to working with our authors to reach readers with their stories. Visit The National Coalition Against Censorship and the American Library Association’s Office of Intellectual Freedom to report censorship in your community.

Want to host a Freedom to Read Roundtable event for your community? Find a step-by-step guide and more online here!

Read more about Banned Books Week! →