MacKids Spotlight: Daniel Kraus

Meet the author of the middle grade series The Teddies Saga, Daniel Kraus! Daniel shares more about his inspiration for this series, his most memorable teachers and librarians, his favorite childhood books, and more in this Q&A!

Book 2 of the Teddies Saga, They Stole Our Hearts is now available! Plus Book 1, They Thew Us Away, is now available in paperback! Five teddy bears set out on an epic journey to figure out why they were left behind—and maybe learn the meaning of life, too—in this action-packed middle grade trilogy from New York Times-bestselling author Daniel Kraus. Perfect for Five Nights at Freddy’s fans!

Read a Q&A with Daniel here →

2022 MacKids School & Library Virtual Events

Join us and our authors at these upcoming virtual events, including book buzzes, webinars, conferences, and more! Check back for updates, as more upcoming events will be added soon. Plus, ICYMI: watch archived videos from our past events here! Check out an archive of our 2021 events here.

Upcoming Events

Using Comics in the Classroom Case Study: The Olympians
January 19, 2022 at 3pm CT / 4pm ET

On January 19, 2022 join Mackin for a special event with bestselling, award-winning Olympians creator George O’Connor, First Second Creative Director Mark Siegel, and Tuan Nguyen discussing the value of using graphic novels in libraries and classrooms. Using The Olympians series as a case study, the panelists will discuss how graphic novels can supplement curriculums. Greek Mythology has never been so action-packed and entertaining! Moderated by Mackin Educational Sales Consultant Tuan Nguyen.


Booklist Authors & ARCs Webinar Part II
Thursday, January 20, 2022 at 1pm CT / 2pm ET

Inspiring authors, free e-ARCs, a riveting panel—it’s a conference without the crowds! Join Booklist on Thursday, January 20 for our second Authors & ARCs program of 2022! In part two of our webinar series, we’re focusing on youth authors whose books have the power to inspire all readers! You’ll hear from Jas Hammonds, author of the debut YA novel We Deserve Monuments; Julie C. Dao, author of the new middle grade fantasy adventure Team Chu and the Battle of Blackwood Arena; and more! Register now for this free, 75-minute webinar moderated by Booklist’s Books for Youth associate editor Ronny Khuri.


ALA LibLearnX Virtual Conference
January 21-24, 2022

Registered ALA attendees can tune in to hear from our featured author speakers Angeline Boulley (Firekeeper’s Daughter), Mariko Tamaki (Cold), and Charly Palmer (The Legend of Gravity) and more!

Saturday, January 22, 2022

10:30 – 11:30am CT
Theater Speaker: Angeline Boulley

11:00am – 12:00pm CT
Theater Speaker: Charly Palmer

Monday, January 24, 2022

10:30 – 11:30am CT
Theater Speaker: Mariko Tamaki

Plus, join us for the 2022 Youth Media Awards on Monday, January 24th at 9am ET to celebrate the announcement of this year’s winners and honorees!

MacKids Spotlight: Lizz Huerta

Lizz Huerta is the debut author of The Lost Dreamer. A stunning YA fantasy inspired by ancient Mesoamerica, this gripping debut introduces us to a lineage of seers defiantly resisting the shifting patriarchal state that would see them destroyed—perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi and Sabaa Tahir.

Lizz shares more about her inspiration for the story and her advice for young writers here! Plus, request a digital review copy of The Lost Dreamer on NetGalley!

Read our Q&A with Lizz Huerta here →

Activity Kit: Where Is Bina Bear? by Mike Curato

Where is Bina Bear? by Mike Curato
On Sale January 11, 2022
Ages 4-8

In Mike Curato’s funny, poignant picture book Where Is Bina Bear?, a little rabbit throws a party—but can’t find best friend Bina Bear anywhere!

Tiny is having a party, but Bina Bear is nowhere to be found. Is that Bina hiding under a lampshade? It looks like Bina . . . but it must be a lamp. Is that Bina beneath the fruit bowl? It could be . . . but it’s probably just a table.

Searching for Bina, Tiny realizes something is wrong—and sets out to make it right. This is a humorous yet sincere picture book about friendship, understanding, and embracing our loved ones just as they are.


Watch the Where is Bina Bear? book trailer here:

Learn more about WHERE IS BINA BEAR? →

Discussion Guide: So Many Beginnings by Bethany C. Morrow

So Many Beginnings: A Little Women Remix by Bethany C. Morrow
Ages 12-18
On Sale Now!

Four young Black sisters come of age during the American Civil War in So Many Beginnings, a warm and powerful YA remix of the classic novel Little Women, by national bestselling author Bethany C. Morrow.

North Carolina, 1863
. As the American Civil War rages on, the Freedpeople’s Colony of Roanoke Island is blossoming, a haven for the recently emancipated. Black people have begun building a community of their own, a refuge from the shadow of the “old life.” It is where the March family has finally been able to safely put down roots with four young daughters:

Meg, a teacher who longs to find love and start a family of her own.

Jo, a writer whose words are too powerful to be contained.

Beth, a talented seamstress searching for a higher purpose.

Amy, a dancer eager to explore life outside her family’s home.

As the four March sisters come into their own as independent young women, they will face first love, health struggles, heartbreak, and new horizons. But they will face it all together.

In the Remixed Classics brand, authors from diverse backgrounds take different literary classics from centuries past and reinterpret them through their own unique cultural lens. This collection will serve YA readers as both a series of fun, engaging reads as well as a subversive overall look at what our society has deemed “classic” — works that are overwhelmingly cishet, white, and male. Find more Remixed Classics here.

Learn more about SO MANY BEGINNINGS here →

Discussion Guide: Never After: The Thirteenth Fairy

Never After: The Thirteenth Fairy by Melissa de la Cruz
Ages 10-14
On Sale Now!

Discover a new middle-grade fantasy saga from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Descendants series, Melissa de la Cruz, where real life and fairy tales collide!

Nothing ever happens in Filomena Jefferson-Cho’s sleepy little suburban town of North Pasadena. The sun shines every day, the grass is always a perfect green, and while her progressive school swears there’s no such thing as bullying, she still feels bummed out. But one day, when Filomena is walking home on her own, something strange happens.

Filomena is being followed by Jack Stalker, one of the heroes in the Thirteenth Fairy, a series of books she loves about a brave girl and her ragtag group of friends who save their world from an evil enchantress. She must be dreaming, or still reading a book. But Jack is insistent—he’s real, the stories are real, and Filomena must come with him at once!

Soon, Filomena is thrust into the world of evil fairies and beautiful princesses, sorcerers and slayers, where an evil queen drives her ruthless armies to destroy what is left of the Fairy tribes. To save herself and the kingdom of Westphalia, Filomena must find the truth behind the fairytales and set the world back to rights before the cycle of sleep and destruction begins once more.

Learn more about NEVER AFTER here →