Giveaway: Enter for a Chance to Win a Classroom Set of TinkerActive Books!


Enter the TinkerActive Workbooks Classroom Sweepstakes for a chance to win a classroom set of math or science workbooks and keep scrolling for a free printable worksheet, including a hands-on activity!

TinkerActive Workbooks are designed to build any child’s fundamental skills while inspiring them to try new things and imagine new possibilities—a surefire way to encourage their love of learning.

One Grand Prize Winner will receive a copy of the workbook of your choice for each student in your class (up to 30). Choose between:

No purchase necessary. Open only to legal residents of the 50 United States or the District of Columbia who are 21 years of age or older. Entry period begins at 12:00 a.m. (ET) on Friday, June 21, 2019 and ends at 11:59 PM ET on Sunday, July 21, 2019. Void where prohibited. For full Official Rules, visit https://read.macmillan.com/promo/mcpgclasstagtinker. Sponsored by Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group, 120 Broadway, 24th Floor 10271.

THERE WILL COME A DARKNESS ARC BOX GIVEAWAY!

Here’s your chance to win one of the most highly anticipated ARCs of Fall 2019! We’re giving away 16 ARC boxes of the debut Young Adult fantasy THERE WILL COME A DARKNESS! Each box includes one pack of Scrying Cards. Learn more about this showstopping fantasy debut here.

To enter for your chance to win, you must retweet this tweet + follow @MacKidsSL + author @KatyPool on Twitter! For the full official rules, keep reading below. Giveaway ends July 12, 2019.

View the full Official Rules of the giveaway here →

Teacher’s Guide: The Miraculous

The Miraculous by Jess Redman

In the tradition of heartwrenching and hopeful middle grade novels such as Bridge to Terabithia comes Jess Redman’s stunning debut about a young boy who must regain his faith in miracles after a tragedy changes his world.

Eleven-year-old Wunder Ellis is a miracologist. In a journal he calls The Miraculous, he records stories of the inexplicable and the extraordinary. And he believes every single one. But then his newborn sister dies, at only eight days old. If that can happen, then miracles can’t exist. So Wunder gets rid of The Miraculous. He stops believing.

Then he meets Faye—a cape-wearing, outspoken girl with losses of her own. Together, they find an abandoned house by the cemetery and a mysterious old woman who just might be a witch. The old woman asks them for their help. She asks them to believe. And they go on a journey that leads to friendship, to adventure, to healing—and to miracles.

The Miraculous is Jess Redman’s sparkling debut novel about facing grief, trusting the unknown, and finding brightness in the darkest moments.

“A stunning story expressing the complexities and mysteries of love and death in all of its light and darkness. A beautifully rendered and meaningful read for young readers asking deep questions.” —Veera Hiranandani, Newbery Honor–winning author of The Night Diary

“Filled with longing, love, hope, and wisdom, The Miraculous is a small miracle of a book.” —Alison McGhee, author of Shadow Baby and the #1 New York Times–bestseller Someday

“Exquisitely crafted, serious, yet woven through with wry humor, this story’s miracles are its fierce and tender characters. I loved this extraordinary debut.” —Leslie Connor, National Book Award Finalist author of The Truth as Told by Mason Buttle

DOWNLOAD THE TEACHER’S GUIDE HERE →

ALA Annual Author Signings, ARC Giveaways, & more!

Are you attending the American Library Association Annual 2019 conference in Washington, DC? Don’t miss your chance to get a book signed by your favorite author! Plus, visit Macmillan Children’s in Booth 1504-1505 to score ARCs + book swag! Read our ALA newsletter here.

Follow along with our ALA news on Twitter at #MacKidsALA and #alaac19

Click here to view larger. Tickets required for all in-booth signings.
Tickets will be distributed at Booth 1504 each day at 9 AM for that day’s signings.
Learn more about our ALA events here →

Teacher’s Guide: The Bone Garden

The Bone Garden by Heather Kassner

A spooky and adventurous debut illustrated fantasy novel about a girl made of dust and bone and imagination who seeks the truth about the magic that brought her to life.

“This magical story—and the brave girl in its pages—will haunt you in the best way.” —Natalie Lloyd, New York Times bestselling author of Over the Moon

“Remember, my dear, you do not really and truly exist.”

Irréelle fears she’s not quite real. Only the finest magical thread tethers her to life—and to Miss Vesper. But for all her efforts to please her cruel creator, the thread is unraveling. Irréelle is forgetful as she gathers bone dust. She is slow returning from the dark passages beneath the cemetery. Worst of all, she is unmindful of her crooked bones.

When Irréelle makes one final, unforgivable mistake by destroying a frightful creature just brought to life, Miss Vesper threatens to imagine her away once and for all. Defying her creator for the very first time, Irréelle flees to the underside of the graveyard and embarks on an adventure to unearth the mysterious magic that breathes bones to life, even if it means she will return to dust and be no more.

With echoes of Neil Gaiman’s The Graveyard Book, debut author Heather Kassner’s The Bone Garden is a gorgeously written story–illustrated by Matt Saunders–humming with magic, mystery, and dark imaginings. Perfect for fans of Holly Black, Jonathan Auxier, and Katherine Arden.

Download the teacher’s guide here →