Snacktime with Debbi Michiko Florence & Jamie Michalak, co-authors of Niki Nakayama: A Chef’s Tale in 13 Bites

Join authors Debbi Michiko Florence and Jamie Michalak for a cooking lesson and make wonton pizzas, a recipe from their new picture book, Niki Nakayama: A Chef’s Tale in 13 Bites!

Niki Nakayama: A Chef’s Tale in 13 Bites by Debbi Michiko Florence and Jamie Michalak; illustrated by Yuko Jones
On Sale Now!
Ages 4-8

Niki Nakayama: A Chef’s Tale in 13 Bites is a picture book biography that tells the story of the powerhouse female Japanese-American chef and her rise to fame

As a child and adult, Niki faced many naysayers in her pursuit of haute cuisine. Using the structure of a traditional kaiseki meal, the authors Debbi Michiko Florence and Jamie Michalak playfully detail Niki’s hunger for success in thirteen “bites” — from wonton wrappers she used to make pizza as a kid to yuzu-tomatillo sauce in her own upscale Los Angeles Michelin-starred restaurant, n/naka.

To anyone who tells her a woman can’t be a master chef, Niki lets her food do the talking. And oh, does it talk. Niki was featured on the first season of Netflix’s culinary documentary series Chef’s Table. And Chrissy Teigen proclaimed that Niki’s restaurant was one of her absolute favorites. She’s currently a featured teacher on MasterClass.

A smart, strong woman with starpower, Niki is only just getting started — like the young readers who will devour this book, featuring illustrations by Yuko Jones!

Praise for Niki Nakayama: A Chef’s Tale in 13 Bites:

★ “In 13 ‘Bites,’ the duo follows Nakayama through food-centered memories, including bonding moments with her grandmother, embarking on a post-high school Tokyo food tour, and trying and then studying kaiseki at a cousin’s ryokan…Mixed media and digital art by Jones make each vignette atmospheric, with varying angles and insets, toothsome details, and watercolor washes.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

★ “Art, storytelling, and food work together on so many levels in this beautiful tale about master chef Niki Nakayama’s life… Young readers will be inspired.”Booklist, starred review

“The meticulously detailed illustrations highlight the food, experiences, and Japanese culture. Included at the end are a timeline of Nakayama’s life, deeper explanations of the concepts of kuyashii and kaiseki, and a recipe for wonton pizza. A flavorful, inspirational biography of a woman who showed the world what she could cook up.” —Kirkus Reviews

Enter Here for Your Chance to Win a Digital Review Copy of The Second Chance of Benjamin Waterfalls!

From James Bird, author of The Brave, comes a new middle grade novel The Second Chance of Benjamin Waterfalls!

The Second Chance of Benjamin Waterfalls
Feiwel & Friends
ISBN: 9781250811561
On Sale April 19, 2022
Ages 10-14


A middle-grade novel by James Bird about a boy sent to his Ojibwe family to straighten out his life.

Benjamin Waterfalls comes from a broken home, and the quickest fix he’s found for his life is to fill that emptiness with stuff he steals and then sells. But he’s been caught one too many times, and when he appears before a tough judge, his mother proposes sending him to “boot camp” at the Objibwe reservation where they used to live.

Soon he is on his way to Grand Portage, Minnesota, to live with his father – the man Benny hasn’t seen in years. Not only is “boot camp” not what he expects, but his rehabilitation seems to be in the hands of the tribal leader’s daughter, who wears a mask. Why? Finding the answer to this and so many other questions prove tougher than any military-style boot camp. Will answers be enough for Benny to turn his life around and embrace his second chance?


The Brave
Feiwel & Friends
ISBN: 9781250247759
On Sale Now!
Ages 9-12


Perfect for fans of Rain Reign, this middle-grade novel The Brave is about a boy with an OCD issue and his move to a reservation to live with his biological mother.

Collin can’t help himself—he has a unique condition that finds him counting every letter spoken to him. It’s a quirk that makes him a prime target for bullies, and a continual frustration to the adults around him, including his father.

When Collin asked to leave yet another school, his dad decides to send him to live in Minnesota with the mother he’s never met. She is Ojibwe, and lives on a reservation. Collin arrives in Duluth with his loyal dog, Seven, and quickly finds his mom and his new home to be warm, welcoming, and accepting of his condition.

Discussion Guide: FALLOUT by Steve Sheinkin

Fallout by Steve Sheinkin
Ages 12-18

On Sale Now!


New York Times bestselling author Steve Sheinkin presents a follow up to his award-winning book Bomb: The Race to Buildand Steal–the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon, taking readers on a terrifying journey into the Cold War and our mutual assured destruction.

As World War II comes to a close, the United States and the Soviet Union emerge as the two greatest world powers on extreme opposites of the political spectrum. After the United States showed its hand with the atomic bomb in Hiroshima, the Soviets refuse to be left behind. With communism sweeping the globe, the two nations begin a neck-and-neck competition to build even more destructive bombs and conquer the Space Race. In their battle for dominance, spy planes fly above, armed submarines swim deep below, and undercover agents meet in the dead of night.

The Cold War game grows more precarious as weapons are pointed towards each other, with fingers literally on the trigger. The decades-long showdown culminates in the Cuban Missile Crisis, the world’s close call with the third—and final—world war.

Learn more about FALLOUT here →

Celebrate Everyday Heroes with Amos McGee!

Thank your everyday hero
for all the ways they make a difference!

To celebrate the release of the new picture book Amos McGee Misses the Bus (on sale November 23, 2021), let’s thank everyday heroes for their kindness and generosity! Nominate someone who has made a difference in your life or your community for their chance to win a grand prize including a $500 gift card and a set of books including Amos McGee Misses the Bus and Caldecott Medal winner A Sick Day for Amos McGee. Two first prize winners will also be selected to win a set of books! Only everyday hero nominees are eligible to win prizes. Sweepstakes ends 10/22!

Learn more about these books here →

WATCH OUR WINTER 2022 SCHOOL & LIBRARY PREVIEW, FEATURING AUTHORS LIZZ HUERTA AND GARY PAULSEN!

Discover your next favorite book with the MacKids School & Library Winter 2022 Preview! Hear from our team as they present some of our wonderful upcoming titles, including picture books, middle grade, and young adult titles! Hosted by Booklist.

Lizz Huerta, debut young adult author of The Lost Dreamer, joining us to talk about her upcoming YA fantasy available March 2022. Plus, Gary Paulsen joins us to give a special preview of his upcoming book, Northwind!

Timestamps:
3:08 – editor Trisha de Guzman and author Lizz Huerta in conversation with a Q&A
14:47 – Picture Books
29:28 – Introduction to our newest imprint, Neon Squid
32:41 – Middle Grade Books
42:36 – Young Adult Books
53:35 – Gary Paulsen