Celebrate Poetry Month with a sweepstakes, giveaway, and more!

We’ve put together a roundup of titles to get you excited about National Poetry Month, including titles like National Book Award Finalist, CSK Steptoe Award Winner, and William C. Morris YA Debut award finalist Me (Moth); Caldecott Honor Book A Place Inside of Me; and My Thoughts are Clouds.

Plus, request a digital preview copy of Moonwalking by Zetta Elliott and Lyn Miller-Lachmann!


Three Stars for Moonwalking!

Moonwalking by Zetta Elliott and Lyn Miller-Lachmann

For fans of Jason Reynolds and Jacqueline Woodson, this middle-grade novel-in-verse follows two boys in 1980s Brooklyn as they become friends for a season.

Punk rock-loving JJ Pankowski can’t seem to fit in at his new school in Greenpoint, Brooklyn, as one of the only white kids. Pie Velez, a math and history geek by day and graffiti artist by night is eager to follow in his idol, Jean-Michel Basquiat’s, footsteps. The boys stumble into an unlikely friendship, swapping notes on their love of music and art, which sees them through a difficult semester at school and at home. But a run-in with the cops threatens to unravel it all.

From authors Zetta Elliott and Lyn Miller-Lachmann, Moonwalking is a stunning exploration of class, cross-racial friendships, and two boys’ search for belonging in a city as tumultuous and beautiful as their hearts.

“The coauthors’ equally strong contributions evocatively bring the characters and setting to life through visual poetry. The even pacing makes for an engrossing read, and the characters’ pain and promise will remain with readers. A stellar, hauntingly beautiful narrative.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“In an authentic look at the racial divide that continues today, authors Elliott and Miller-Lachman bring varying degrees of own-voices authenticity to the characterizations and emotions represented. Their multilayered exposure of a specific time in history will resonate with modern readers, who will see these racist acts echoed all too loudly in current events.” — Booklist, starred review

“A tender, engrossing tribute to art and close interpersonal bonds that explores themes of neurodivergence, mental health, and institutional prejudice.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review


This sweepstakes is now closed to entries! Enter the MacKids School & Library Poetry Month Sweeps for your chance to win a classroom visit with Georgia Heard and Isabel Roxas, creators of My Thoughts Are Clouds. Enter by March 20, 2022 for your chance to win!

Explore more poetry books on our website here!