ALA Midwinter 2021 Virtual Booth

Explore our virtual booth to learn about our ALA Midwinter author programs, request digital ARCs of upcoming books, and enter for your chance to win free finished copies of our new releases.


Don’t miss these author programs!

Click to expand: Learn more about these author programs and books here.

Scheduled Programs

Coffee Talk with LeUyen Pham
Friday, January 22, 9:30-10:00 AM ET

LeUyen Pham and editor Connie Hsu officially kick off Friday’s programming with their Coffee Talk conversation on OUTSIDE, INSIDE!  

From Caldecott honoree LeUyen Pham, Outside, Inside is a moving picture book celebrating essential workers and the community coming together to face the challenges of the global COVID-19 pandemic.

★ Kirkus Reviews, starred review
★ Booklist, starred review
★ Shelf Awareness, starred review


Book Buzz Bite with Livia Blackburne and Julia Kuo
Monday, January 25th at 11:00am ET

Author Livia Blackburne and Illustrator Julia Kuo introduce I DREAM OF POPO!

From New York Times bestselling author Livia Blackburne and illustrator Julia Kuo, here is I Dream of Popo. This delicate, emotionally rich picture book celebrates a special connection that crosses time zones and oceans as Popo and her granddaughter hold each other in their hearts forever.

★ Kirkus Reviews, starred review
★ Publishers Weekly, starred review


On Demand Programs

Diversity In Publishing Stage
Author Angeline Boulley and editor Tiffany Liao discuss FIREKEEPER’S DAUGHTER!

In Firekeeper’s Daughter, debut author Angeline Boulley crafts a groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community, for readers of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange.


Book Buzz Theater: Macmillan Children’s Book Buzz
Featuring keynotes from authors Lydia Sigwarth (DEAR LIBRARIAN), Juliet Menéndez (LATINITAS), and Randi Pink (ANGEL OF GREENWOOD)!

DEAR LIBRARIAN by Lydia Sigwarth, illustrated by Romina Galotta
Dear Librarian is a love letter to libraries and a “thank you” to anyone who has offered a child love and support during a difficult time. Romina Galotta beautifully illustrates Lydia Sigwarth’s deeply personal story about the safe space that a library can be for a young person in need, and the feeling of being seen by a librarian who knows exactly the right book for you and believes you are a special person.

LATINITAS: CELEBRATING 40 BIG DREAMERS by Juliet Menéndez
Dream big with the Latinitas in Latinitas: Celebrating 40 Big Dreamers! Discover how 40 influential Latinas became the women we celebrate today! In this collection of short biographies from all over Latin America and across the United States, Juliet Menéndez explores the first small steps that set the Latinitas off on their journeys. With gorgeous, hand-painted illustrations, Menéndez shines a spotlight on the power of childhood dreams.

ANGEL OF GREENWOOD by Randi Pink
Randi Pink’s The Angel of Greenwood is a historical YA novel that takes place during the Greenwood Massacre of 1921, in an area of Tulsa, OK, known as the “Black Wall Street.”

★  Publishers Weekly, starred review


Comics Relief: Comics Creators Getting Coffee

First Second Editorial & Creative Director Mark Siegel talks graphic novels with creators Nidhi Chanani (JUKEBOX), Faith Erin Hicks (NOTHING CAN POSSIBLY GO WRONG) and Kate Reed Petty (THE LEAK).

JUKEBOX by Nidhi Chanani
Grab some coins for the jukebox, and get ready for a colorful, time-traveling musical tale about family and courage. A mysterious jukebox, old vinyl records, and cryptic notes on music history, are Shaheen’s only clues to her father’s abrupt disappearance. She looks to her cousin, Tannaz, who seems just as perplexed, before they both turn to the jukebox which starts…glowing?

NOTHING CAN POSSIBLY GO WRONG by Faith Erin Hicks
Charlie’s the laid-back captain of the basketball team. Nate is the neurotic, scheming president of the robotics club. But they are friends, however unlikely—until Nate declares war on the cheerleaders and the cheerleaders retaliate by making Charlie their figurehead in the ugliest class election campaign the school has ever seen. At stake? Student group funding that will either cover a robotics competition or new cheerleading uniforms, but not both.

THE LEAK by Kate Reed Petty
In this compelling middle-grade graphic novel The Leak, Ruth, a young journalist, is determined to uncover a secret that threatens her town. Ruth Keller is brash and precocious; she argues with her dentist, her parents, and her teachers. So, when she discovers a strange black slime in the man-made lake of her suburban neighborhood, she decides to investigate. Fortified by the encouragement of those around her, Ruth seeks the truth at all costs, even if it means taking on the rich local country club owner, who she believes is responsible for the pollution.


Watch our Winter 2021 Preview,
featuring Katherine Applegate!

Our team presents our Winter 2021 list including picture books, middle grade and young adult titles! Plus Katherine Applegate reveals the cover of her new middle grade novel WILLODEEN  (available September 2021)!


Browse the best-reviewed books of 2020!

Discover the top-reviewed books of 2020 here.


Start building your 2021 reading list!

Browse 2021’s best-reviewed books (so far!) here.


Request digital ARCs on NetGalley!

Be the first to read some of 2021’s most-anticipated books.


Bestselling & Popular Series

Keep up with these must-read series!
Be the first to read the newest installments on NetGalley!


Enter for a chance to win these must-read books!