Teacher’s Guide: The Midnight Children by Dan Gemeinhart

The Midnight Children by Dan Gemeinhart
Ages 8-12
On Sale Now!

#1 New York Times Bestseller!

From Dan Gemeinhart, the acclaimed author of The Remarkable Journey of Coyote Sunrise, comes an extraordinary story about a family of runaways who take up residence in a small town, and the outcast boy who finds his voice and his peopleperfect for fans of Katherine Applegate and Kate DiCamillo.

In the dead of night, a truck arrives in Slaughterville, a small town curiously named after its windowless slaughterhouse. Seven mysterious kids with suitcases step out of the vehicle and into an abandoned home on a dead-end street, looking over their shoulders to make sure they aren’t noticed.

But Ravani Foster covertly witnesses their arrival from his bedroom window. Timid and lonely, Ravani is eager to learn everything he can about his new neighbors: What secrets are they hiding? And most mysterious of all…where are the adults?

Yet amid this shadowy group of children, Ravani finds an unexpected friend in the warm and gutsy Virginia. But with this friendship comes secrets revealed—and danger. When Ravani learns of a threat to his new friends, he must fight to keep them safe, or lose the only person who has ever understood him.

Full of wonder, friendship, and mystery, The Midnight Children explores the meaning of “home,” what makes a family, and what it takes to find the courage to believe in yourself.

“This might be the best #middlegradenovel of 2022,” says @colby.sharp!


Praise for The Midnight Children

#1 New York Times Bestseller
#4 Indie Bestseller

* “A story of fierce friendship, bravery, loyalty, and finding—or making—a place to belong.” —Kirkus Reviewsstarred review

* “Gemeinhart’s moody, magnificent novel [is] a Stephen King–esque blend of the sentimental and sinister. A tale by turns sweet and terrifying of friendship, bravery, and finding oneself in caring for others—this is for readers who enjoy dark tales with a lot of heart.” —School Library Journalstarred review

* “The children forge the story’s path as they powerfully change their community through courageous honesty and emotional vulnerability.” —Publishers Weeklystarred review

* “A rare (yet well done) tale about second chances and being true to both self and friends.” —Bookliststarred review

Dan Gemeinhart’s best yet and that’s saying something.” —Padma Venkatraman, Walter Award-winning author of The Bridge Home