Congratulations to our 2022 ALA Award Winners & Honors!

We are proud to share our 2022 ALA Award winners, honorees, and finalists from Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group, announced January 24, 2022 at the Youth Media Awards!


Michael L. Printz Award Winner
William C. Morris YA Debut Award Winner
American Indian Youth Literature Award Young Adult Honor Book

FIREKEEPER’S DAUGHTER by Angeline Boulley
Angeline Boulley’s debut novel, Firekeeper’s Daughter, is a groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community, perfect for readers of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange.


William C. Morris YA Debut Award Finalists

ACE OF SPADES by Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé
Gossip Girl meets Get Out in Ace of Spades, a YA contemporary thriller by debut author Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé about two students, Devon & Chiamaka, and their struggles against an anonymous bully.


WHAT BEAUTY THERE IS by Cory Anderson
What Beauty There Is is Cory Anderson’s stunning YA novel about brutality and beauty, and about broken people trying to survive.


William C. Morris YA Debut Award Finalist
John Steptoe New Talent Award Winner for Author

ME (MOTH) by Amber McBride
A debut YA novel-in-verse by Amber McBride, Me (Moth) is about a teen girl who is grieving the deaths of her family, and a teen boy who crosses her path.


Coretta Scott King Book Award Illustrator Honor Book

WE WAIT FOR THE SUN illustrated by Raissa Figueroa,
written by Dovey Johnson Roundtree and Katie McCabe

A beautiful and uplifting non-fiction picture book from Katie McCabe and trailblazing civil rights lawyer and activist Dovey Johnson Roundtree, We Wait for the Sun.


Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal Honor Book

FALLOUT: SPIES, SUPERBOMBS, AND THE ULTIMATE COLD WAR SHOWDOWN
by Steve Sheinkin
Steve Sheinkin presents a follow up to his award-winning book Bomb: The Race to Build–and Steal–the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon, taking readers on a terrifying journey into the Cold War and our mutual assured destruction.

The Cold War game grows more precarious as weapons are pointed towards each other, with fingers literally on the trigger. The decades-long showdown culminates in the Cuban Missile Crisis, the world’s close call with the third—and final—world war.


Schneider Family Book Award Honor for Best Book for Teens

A FACE FOR PICASSO: COMING OF AGE WITH CROUON SYNDROME by Ariel Henley
Ariel explores beauty and identity in her young-adult memoir about resilience, sisterhood, and the strength it takes to put your life, and yourself, back together time and time again. At only eight months old, identical twin sisters Ariel and Zan were diagnosed with Crouzon syndrome — a rare condition where the bones in the head fuse prematurely. Ariel gives an account of her story.


Sydney Taylor Book Award Notable Book

THE MAGICAL IMPERFECT by Chris Baron
“Written in first person, this lyrical novel-in-verse invites readers into Etan’s world, who will be drawn in by his very silence and how friendship relies on listening just as much as speaking.”—School Library Journal
“[P]aints a beau­ti­ful pic­ture of inter­twined fam­i­lies, of a com­mu­ni­ty dis­cov­er­ing its strengths, immi­gra­tion across gen­er­a­tions of Amer­i­cans, and the unlike­ly friend­ship between two kids try­ing to find their place in the world.” —Jewish Book Council


Asian/Pacific American Literature Award Winner for Adult Fiction

SHADOW LIFE by Hiromi Goto; illustrated by Ann Xu
Poet and novelist Hiromi Goto effortlessly blends wry, observational slice-of-life literary fiction with poetic magical realism in the tender and surprising graphic novel Shadow Life, with haunting art from debut artist Ann Xu.

“Sprinkled with fabulism (a vacuum and salt can stop death), confronting racist history (Canada’s WWII prison camps for Japanese Canadians), and questioning institutionalized eldercare, Goto’s latest is an empowering, emotional tribute to defiant, independent, kick-ass old women living their best lives.”—Bookliststarred review